Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is responsible for our overall performance and reports annually to our joint ministers. (See: Governance)
The DHA Board comprises directors consisting of:

  • a chairman appointed by our joint ministers
  • four directors with expertise in residential property, real estate, building, social planning or finance
  • three directors nominated respectively by the Chief of the Defence Force, the Secretary of the Department of Defence, and the Secretary of the Department of Finance
  • the Managing Director of DHA is appointed by the Board and is the only Executive Director.
Sandy Macdonald

Hon J.A.L. (Sandy) Macdonald

Chairman from 12 February 2015
Appointed: July 2008
Reappointed: October 2011 and January 2014
Acting Chairman: November 2014 to February 2015
Committees: BPC and N&RC

Bachelor of Laws (Sydney)
Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

Mr Macdonald was elected to the Australian Senate in 1993 and served multiple terms before retiring in 2008.

His Parliamentary service includes eight years as Chair of the Senate Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Committee, and periods as Deputy Leader of the Nationals in the Senate, Parliamentary Secretary for Defence and Parliamentary Secretary for Trade.

He was a member of the Anzac Centenary Advisory Board and served as a non-executive Director of Incremental Oil and Gas Ltd from 2010 to 2014.

Mr Macdonald has considerable public and private company experience, and is a wool and beef producer near Quirindi, New South Wales.

Photograph: Ms Jan Mason - Acting Managing Director

Ms Jan Mason

Managing Director
Appointed: November 2016
Acting Managing Director: November 2015 to November 2016

Bachelor of Arts
Bachelor of Social Science
Diploma in Continuing Education
Advanced Management Program (Harvard Business School)
Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

Before joining DHA, Ms Mason was a Deputy Secretary at the Department of Finance. She was responsible for a range of major areas such as taxpayers’ multibillion-dollar investments in government businesses (including DHA); oversight of major government construction projects, technology and procurement; the sale of Medibank Private and reform of the Air Warfare Destroyer Program.

Ms Mason has private-sector experience and she was also the ACT winner (Community and Government category) and a national finalist in the 2014 Telstra Business Women’s Awards.

Martin Brady

Mr Martin Brady AO

Director (Secretary of Defence nominee)
Appointed: July 2014
Committees: BAC (Chair), BPC and N&RC

Mr Brady has a distinguished 28-year career in the Australian Government, with roles at the Departments of Foreign Affairs and Defence. Notable appointments include Director of the Defence Signals Directorate and Chairman of the Defence Intelligence Board.

Since leaving the APS he has undertaken reviews and consultancy projects in Australia and overseas on intelligence issues, technology requirements, arms exports processes and Defence overseas staffing.

In 2000, he was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for his services to the development of Australian strategic policy formulation.

Mr Brady is Chair of the Board for DHA Investment Management Limited (DHA IML), DHA’s subsidiary company.

Photograph: Commodore Vicki McConachie CSC RANR - Director (Chief of the Defence Force nominee)

Commodore Vicki McConachie CSC RANR

Director (Chief of the Defence Force nominee)
Appointed: December 2013
Committees: DHA AC (Chair) and BAC

Bachelor of Arts
Master of Laws
Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

Commodore McConachie’s career in the Royal Australian Navy (RAN) included postings as Commanding Officer HMAS Kuttabul, Chief of Staff to the Inspector General Australian Defence Force, Director General ADF Legal Service, Director General Navy People and Head Navy People and Reputation.

She has received multiple awards, including the Conspicuous Service Cross, the Centenary of Federation Medal and the US Meritorious Service Medal (for her service as Deputy Staff Judge Advocate and Chief of International Law in the Headquarters of Multi National Force Iraq).

She currently leads an Australian Government legal division and is a member of the RAN Reserve.

Photograph: Ms Janice Williams - Director (Secretary of Finance nominee)

Ms Janice Williams

Director (Secretary of Finance nominee)
Appointed: December 2012
Reappointed: April 2016
Committees: BPC (Chair), BAC and N&RC

Bachelor of Social Work (First Class Honours)
University Medal, University of Queensland
Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

Ms Williams has considerable property-relate expertise. She was the Chief Executive of the Urban Development Institute of Australia for four years and was subsequently made a Fellow.

She was a Director of the Brisbane Housing Company for 10 years and chaired its property committee for six years. She has held many executive and consulting positions, including Head of the Community Services Development for the Queensland Government and significant roles at the Brisbane City Council.

She is currently Director of Jardine Developments, which delivers small-scale unit developments and refurbishments, and a Director of the Residential Tenancies Authority and member of its audit and risk committee.

Photograph: The Hon Alan Ferguson - Commercial Director

Hon Alan Ferguson

Commercial Director
Appointed: February 2015
Committees: BPC

Mr Ferguson was elected to the Australian Senate in 1992. He served three full terms before retiring in 2011.

He served on a Number of Senate and Joint Committees, including more than eight years as Chairman of the Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade. He also served as President of the Senate in 2007 and 2008, and represented the Parliament on many delegations.

He is currently Chair of the Australian Political Exchange Council. He has been a member of Rotary International for approximately 40 years and is involved with the National Trust.

Before entering politics, he was a farmer and was self-employed insurance consultant.

Photograph: Mr Robert Fisher AM  - Commercial Director

Mr Robert Fisher AM

Commercial Director
Appointed: February 2016
Committees: BAC and BPC

Bachelor of Arts
Bachelor of Education

Mr Fisher has a distinguished 40-year career in the public service. Notable appointments include more than a decade as a Member of the Australian Trade Commissioner Service and almost 20 years as Chief Executive Officer or Director General of various Western Australia (WA) government departments. From 2001 to 2006 he was Agent General for WA, based in London (United Kingdom).

He was one of five Commissioners on the Australian Government’s National Commission of Audit in 2013-14. His most recent Board appointments include Chairman of the WA Forest Products Commission and the Aquatic Advisory Committee.

In 2003, he was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for service to the public sector in WA, particularly in the areas of trade, industry and children, community and family services.